Day 16 – Lessons 4 & 5

As I had finished most of lesson 4 yesterday, I went over the last two training videos about typographic effects. In this case, I learned how to arrange a verse so that it represented a mouse’s tail.

Below is what the resulting effect is supposed to be from the original document.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 12.53.42 PM

I selected that paragraph from the text field and cut it from the document. Opening a text field in the paste board, I then pasted the text then moved the text back onto the text frame in the document.Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.05.38 PM

Above, I placed vectors and guidelines on both sides of the text field so that I would be able to adjust the field in a zig-zag shape.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.26.06 PM

While the shape is not as curved  as the original the result is a goo start. I would have to spend more time, and possibly add more vectors to get the curve that I want.

Even though in lesson 5 I only worked with placing images into the document, the process was a bit overwhelming. Many novels, like Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, use illustrations. I’m not particularly a big fan of illustrations like these, but I can understand the appeal of them during that time.

The lesson dealt with both text wraps and inline graphics (which are graphics that are anchored with the text). Inline graphics were the less complicated of the two. I simply created an inline paragraph style then shift-clicked the image to that blank line to anchor the graphic to the text.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.33.03 PM

The text wraps were more complicated, and I noticed that all sorts of things can go wrong… or just be frustrating to deal with. The very first chapter of the book deals with a text wrap image and I applied it to a different layer since it would not anchor to the text in any way. It was a lot of trial and error trying to get the text to not overlap the image at any point and vise versa.Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.50.52 PM

One thought on “Day 16 – Lessons 4 & 5

Leave a Reply

