Day 21 – Lessons 1 & 2 (ePUB)

I loathe deadline days for my work, because I tend to have trouble focusing on anything other than what I need to turn in for newspaper layout, so my focus in today’s lessons were seriously lacking. Couple that with me still feeling like it’s Wednesday instead of Thursday (because of the three-day weekend) and my mind is all over the place.

Always, I started Anne-Marie Concepcion’s InDesign CC 2015: ePUB Fundamentals today, and despite my mind being everywhere at once, Lesson 1 – “Understanding the Nature of ePUBs” was already very enlightening in helping understanding what they are and what they are not.

I started with the misconception–and I’m sure it’s a common one since Anne-Marie felt the need to nip this in the bud from the start of the lesson–that ePUBs were essentially ebooks, and I just thought the words interchangeable. In fact not all ebooks are ePUBs, and ePUBs are a type of ebook and ePUBs are a standard for crating digital books.

The two main formats of ePUBs are reflowable and fixed-layouts, which I learned a little in InDesign CC Essential Training (2015). Reflowable is the most commonly used format for ebooks because it constantly changes the flow of text or document depending on what size your screen is, or even what platform (i.e. Kindle, iPad, laptop, etc.) you are viewing on.

In lesson 1, I basically learned the pros and cons for both reflowable and fixed-layouts, and how and when decide to use each format.

In lesson 2, I began to create a workspace for ePUBs, so that I had the essential panels I would be using when creating, formatting and editing my ePUB.

The left image shows the “Advanced” panels, which I then added panels I would need and subtracted those I would not and saved it as an ePUB workspace.

I also learned how to install scripts that I may use when creating an ePUB as well as gathering other software that will pertinent to this process.

Leave a Reply

