Day 36 – Lesson 3 (Illustrator Essentials)

In Lesson 3, I learned how to work with artboards, which comes in handy when you have multiple sides to a document (like a three-fold brochure), or want to make multiple versions.

To start off the lesson, I created multi-dartboard document to create business cards and I started with a new document under the File menu, naming the document “Business Card.” I selected “Print” in the dropdown box of Profile then changed the width and height to 3.5 in. x 2 in. with a bleed of 0.125 in. Finally, in “Number of Artboards” I created six with a spacing of 1 inch and column of 3 before clicking OK.

In the next section of this lesson, I learned how to create artboards on the fly, by first going ahead and creating a new document, then opening the Artboards panel. With the intent of creating a webpage mock-up, I renamed “Artboard 1” to “Home”, then clicked on  “New Artboard” then double-clicked calling it “About.” I created two more called “Store” and “Contact.”

Now the problem with these is that if I switch from one to the other with a zoomed view, they all look the same, so I needed something to differentiate. Using the rectangle tool I created different sized rectangles then filling them with different colors, so that I knew which artboard I was editing.

There is another way to add artboards on the fly with a document by using the Artboard Tool on the left-hand side of Adobe Illustrator or press Shift+o. While there is an active selection around the artboard, the Control Panel completely changes to edit your artboards as well as add new ones.

The New Artboard button is exactly what I want, which is located next to the orientation buttons. By clicking the New Artboard button I just simply go to my pasteboard then click out to the left of the original artboard to place it.

One thought on “Day 36 – Lesson 3 (Illustrator Essentials)

Leave a Reply

