Day 39 – Lesson 7 (Illustrator Essentials)

In Lesson 7 I worked with fills and strokes by first learning about how to create gradients as fills. I’ve learned a little about gradients in earlier lessons, but this was a little more involved by adding a gradient as a fill for a logo.

lesson-7-creating-gradients

 

In the above picture, you can see that there has already been some gradients added to the photo, as well as a drop shadow, to give the logo some definition. What I want to do is add a gradient fill to the banner to give it more depth.

lesson-7-creating-gradients2

 

I first used the selection tool, to select the banner before going to the gradient panel and adding a linear type gradient, which I will edit it some more to create a unique gradient for it.

lesson-7-creating-gradients3

 

Above, you can see that I’ve added to more gradient stops to give me more flexibility to create gradients. Double-clicking on the gradient tabs I made the two outside tabs a darker red while the inner ones were slightly lighters. I created one more tab and made it lighter to give the banner a highlight in the center of the banner.

I then added this gradient to the ends of the banner and changed the angle on the left one to 30 degrees and the right one to 150 degrees so that the highlight goes with the angle of the banner.

One thought on “Day 39 – Lesson 7 (Illustrator Essentials)

Leave a Reply

