April 25, 2017 | Career Center and Website design ideas

Since I come in earlier than the high school students, and Career Center doesn’t start till much later, I decided to get started on working on mockups for my e-portfolio. Right now I’m just working on a very simple design for my logo and how I want my page layouts.

There are no photos, because I’ve been working on sketches, but I do have some photos of the some websites that have inspired me.

I’ll start by discussion some elements that liked from each website.

With Daniel Sato’s website (in the top right corner), my favorite part of his site is the home page. I really like the simplicity of it and the location of his navigation bar (the right side). That immediately makes it unique from the other websites that I’ve visited, and is something I think I might incorporate.

I also like the CSS elements he utilized. When you hover over each nav point, a quote would slide in a left-to-right motion.

However, when I leave the homepage, things I loved about the site go away. The site keeps its simplicity, but is very inconsistent from the rest of the site. After leaving the homepage, You notice that the location of the nav bar changes each time. The “About” page’s nav bar stays relatively the same as far as design, but it’s location goes from the right side of the page to the top right. Even the hover design element changes.

Screen Shot 2017-05-02 at 12.57.30 PM

Things really begin to change when I go to the Portfolio or Blog pages, and both the design and location of the nav bar changes yet again.

Screen Shot 2017-05-02 at 12.57.44 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-02 at 12.58.00 PM

In the top image, the Portfolio, the nav bar becomes very traditional, but other site locations are introduced that weren’t there before such as: Photography, Videography/Graphics and Web Design.

In the Blog section of his site, the nav bar design and location changes once more to the left side, as well as incorporating an underline underneath each nav point.

Don’t get me wrong, Sato is a very talented videographer, photographer and journalist, but the overall design of his site seemed very piecemeal.

I have no real criticisms of Poh Si Teng or John D. Sutter’s sites, however. Not because I think they’re perfect, but because their design flaws are mainly due to personal preferences. They are both simple, sleek and professional looking. But in contrast with Sato’s, their nav bar’s are in the same location no matter where you are at on the site.

I wanted to design something that both reflected me in some way, but also had a very professional feel to it. I sometimes get too frustrated with sites that are way too cluttered. With that in mind, I think with an digital portfolio it’s important to keep it simple and professional, but yet design in way that will showcase my capabilities in the web design field.

Leave a Reply

