May 4, 2017 | End of the Year Wall Project

Today, I was still trying to figure out what I wanted my project to be, so I scoured the Internet to try and find ideas.

I used bing images to try and find some inspiration and even searched through some YouTube videos and channels for Adobe tutorials to see if that would spark anything.

I thought about trying to turn a portrait photo into a vector image using the Pen tool in Adobe Illustrator. I’ve dabbled with that a little in the past with varying degrees of success.

There are actually really good ones on a YouTuber, Ikhsan Hidayat‘s channel. Don’t be fooled, it’s actually a lot harder than it looks.

I was able to get a handle on some aspects of creating vector cartoons, but was getting extremely frustrated with how to apply shadows. I don’t really know why that was such an issued with me, but I really wasn’t liking how my shadows and highlights were.

It’s also getting close to crunch time since this project is due tomorrow, and I’m not even halfway with being through, nor anywhere near happy with how the vector image is turning out.

Leave a Reply

